Criminal Defense and DUI/DWI Attorney
AWD LAW has an elite team of experienced Criminal Defense and DUI/DWI attorneys

Traffic Violations
Drug Possession
Drug Trafficking
Probation and Parole Violations
Minor Consumption
Guns and Weapons Violations
Assault and Battery
Theft and Burglary
Rape and Sexual Assault
White Collar Crimes
Juvenile Offenses
Murder
Criminal Investigations
Appeals and post-conviction relief matters

AWD LAW attorneys have been helping Northern Arizona residents navigate the consequences of DUI charges for over 40 years.

AWD LAW is Flagstaff’s DUI-DWI and Criminal Defense law firm.


With proven trial records, our criminal defense attorneys know how to successfully defend you against the potentially life-changing consequences of a DUI, DWI, or Extreme DWI conviction.

From Reckless Driving and Extreme DWI to Boating OUI and every other vehicular-related crime, AWD LAW’s DUI Defense team are the Arizona experts when it comes to vehicular law. We handle DUI/DWI defense and vehicular cases all over Northern Arizona.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact Attorney Wendy Edwards today at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact Attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

call
1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478.

after hours, please call
928-380-2162.

Has someone you know been booked into the Coconino County Jail for DUI?

http://www.coconino.az.gov

Flagstaff Facility
951 E. Sawmill Rd. Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Ph: (928) 226-5200

Page Facility
713 Tunnel Rd.
P.O. Box 7445 Page, AZ 86040
Ph: (928) 645-8873

In Arizona, if you are convicted of DUI, DWI or Extreme DWI, you face: mandatory jail time, substantial fines, surcharges, loss of driving privileges and more. Arizona is a state that takes this offense very seriously. In fact, there is a law that states a DUI cannot be dismissed unless there is a legal or factual basis to do so.

The attorneys at AWD LAW are trained to find the legal and/or factual basis that will get your DUI case dismissed. Contact Attorney Wendy Edwards right now! Call 1-800-774-1478, 928-774-1478 or 928-380-2162 if it is after hours. Learn more about Wendy by reviewing her credentials and bio here.

One key to mounting a successful defense is understanding the different DUI/DWI charges. Scroll down to review the five laws and their definitions. It is imperative that you understand exactly what you are being charged with and understand the subtleties of each law.

Definitions of DWI/DUI law

DWI A.R.S. §28-1381 (A)(1)
Driving While Impaired to the Slightest Degree by Drugs or Alcohol.
The DWI charge in Arizona does not require a breath reading. It strictly deals with suspicion of driving while impaired to the slightest degree by drugs or alcohol, according to the manner of driving, physical and mental symptoms of impairment, or verbal admissions of impairment. The mandatory minimum punishment, if convicted of a first offense, includes 10 days in jail with 9 days being suspended with successful completion of substance abuse screening and any recommended counseling (which the person must pay for). A person booked into jail at the time of their offense may be given credit for that time served. The fine is approximately $1,600-$1,700. For an offense involving alcohol, there is a 90 day suspension of their driver’s license, or privilege to drive in Arizona, which can be reduced to 30 days of no driving followed by 60 days of restricted driving to, from and/or for work, school, medical, probation and/or ignition interlock device appointments if the person completes a substance abuse screening at an MVD approved facility. Once the person reinstates their license by paying a reinstatement fee, they are required to install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle that they operate for a period of one year. For an offense involve drugs, there is a one year license revocation.

 

DUI A.R.S. §28-1381 (A)(2)
Driving Under the Influence with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or greater within two hours of driving.
The DUI charge with a BAC of .08 or greater requires a breath or blood sample showing a person is over .08 within two hours of driving. However, some jurisdictions will charge a person with a DWI (see above), even if their BAC is under a .08. The punishment for a first offense is the same as the mandatory minimum punishment for a DWI (see above). Penalties are far more serious for repeat offenders. There are 3 types of felony DUI. 1. DUI/DWI will the person’s driver’s license is suspended or restricted; 2. A 3rd DUI/DWI within 7 years; 3. A DUI/DWI will someone under 15 years of age is in the car.

 

EXTREME DUI A.R.S. §28-1382 (A)(1)
Driving Under the Influence with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.15% or greater within two hours of driving.
The Extreme DUI charge requires the BAC to be .15% or greater. The mandatory minimum punishment if convicted of a first offense Extreme DUI is 30 days in jail which can possibly be reduced to 9 days if the person installs an ignition interlock device for one year. The person must complete substance abuse screening and any recommended counseling. The fine is approximately $2,800-$2,900, plus possible jail reimbursement fees. The person’s driver’s license or privilege to drive in Arizona would be suspended for 90 days which can be reduced to 30 days of no driving followed by 60 days of restricted driving to, from and/or for work, school, medical, probation and/or ignition interlock device appointments if the person completes a substance abuse screening at an MVD approved facility. Once the person reinstates their license by paying a reinstatement fee, they are required to install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle that they operate for a period of one year.

 

SUPER EXTREME DUI A.R.S. §28-1382(A)(2)
Driving with a Blood Alcohol Concentration of 0.20% or greater within two hours of driving.
DUI over .20 is commonly called a “Super Extreme” DUI. It is similar to an Extreme DUI charge except it requires the BAC to be .20% or greater and carries more severe penalties.

The mandatory minimum punishment if convicted of a first offense Super Extreme DUI is 45 days in jail which can possibly be reduced to 14 days if the person installs an ignition interlock device for one year. The person must complete substance abuse screening and any recommended counseling. The fine is approximately $3,400 plus possible jail reimbursement fees. The person’s driver’s license or privilege to drive in Arizona would be suspended for 90 days which can be reduced to 30 days of no driving followed by 60 days of restricted driving to, from and/or for work, school, medical, probation and/or ignition interlock device appointments if the person completes a substance abuse screening at an MVD approved facility. Once the person reinstates their license by paying a reinstatement fee, they are required to install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle that they operate for a period of 18 months.

 

DUI Drugs A.R.S. §28-1381 (A)(3)
It is against the law to drive with illegal or illicit drugs in your body. Illegal drugs are banned drugs such as cocaine, marijuana, methamphetamine, heroin et al. Illicit drugs are legal drugs possessed by someone who does not have a valid prescription to consume or possess those drugs. In Arizona, for a DUI Drugs charge, it is irrelevant whether or not the person is impaired while operating a vehicle—a DUI Drugs charge is strict liability crime. If the drug or its metabolite (there is an exception for marijuana metabolites with a valid medical marijuana card) is found in the person’s system, they can be convicted of DUI Drugs.

Even if the person have a valid prescription, the State can still charge them with DWI (see above) which simply requires the State to show that the person is driving while impaired to the slightest degree by their prescription drug.

Time and the State are not on your side in these matters, and you risk an unfavorable outcome if you lack an expert DUI attorney defending you in court.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Take advantage of our free consultations by contacting Attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

WHAT SHOULD YOU DO IF YOU ARE PULLED OVER FOR DUI/DWI?

Answers to this and other important questions can be found below.

Arizona State FAQ:

  • How Should I Behave if Pulled Over?

    First, you should pull over to the right side of the road as soon as is safely possible. You should roll your window down and gather your driver’s license, vehicle registration and proof of insurance. It is helpful to have the registration and insurance documents in an easy to locate place ahead of time. You should hand these documents to the officer when asked and be polite and courteous.

    Remember two rules: never lie to the police and never incriminate yourself. This means, first of all, that you should not say something to the police that is not true.

    Secondly, don’t say something that could cause you to get in trouble. For example, telling the officer that you have had something to drink before driving is incriminating.

    If you have been drinking or have ingested drugs and the officer asks you to step from the vehicle to perform tests, politely decline. This includes a request to do a breath test in the field. If the officer tells you to step out of the vehicle because you are being placed under arrest for a DUI, you must comply. However, you should ask to call an attorney as soon as possible. It is important that you have an attorney’s number saved in your cell phone. Attorney Wendy Edwards’ cell phone number is 928-380-2162. If you do not have an attorney’s number with you, request the use of a phone and a phone book so that you can find an attorney to call.

    If, after placing you under arrest for a DUI, the officer informs you that you are required to take a breath and/or blood and/or urine test (they can ask for all three if they wish), and, if you do not agree, your Arizona driver’s license or privilege to drive in Arizona will be suspended for one year. Law enforcement is not required to allow you to call an attorney prior to deciding whether to take a breath test for purposes of the one year license suspension. However, if you are denied the ability to try to contact an attorney, your DUI case may be dismissed.

    It is always best to agree to a breath test. However, some officers may request blood and/or urine, as well. You also have the right to request an independent test. The officer is not required to arrange the independent test for you, although some may take you to the hospital to do so. If not, when you are released (which might require getting bailed out), you should go to the hospital or a lab in order to have an independent blood test done.

    DO behave courteously to all law enforcement offices.
    DO present your drivers’ license, registration and proof of insurance.
    DO invoke your right to remain silent by telling the officer that you do not want to answer any questions.
    DO ask to speak with a Lawyer immediately, if placed under arrest.
    DO Ask to be released to obtain an independent blood test from a hospital.

    However:

    DO NOT answer questions.
    DO NOT make any statements about drinking or feeling impaired.
    DO NOT agree to take the eye test.
    DO NOT agree to take coordination tests, also known as field sobriety tests.
    DO NOT try to talk your way out of the situation or confront the law enforcement officers.

    We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

  • What is a Breathalyzer and do I Have to Take a Breathalyzer Test?

    A Breathalyzer is a device that is used to estimate a person’s blood alcohol content. When a driver is pulled over for suspected drunk driving, he or she may be asked by police to breathe into a Breathalyzer device to determine the level of intoxication. However, since a Breathalyzer measures breath alcohol and not blood alcohol directly, it can be an inaccurate way of determining whether someone is intoxicated above the legal blood alcohol limit.

    If you are not under arrest, you should decline to take a breath test in the field. If you are placed under arrest and you decline to take the requested breath, blood and/or urine test, your license or privilege to drive in Arizona will be suspended for one year. In many areas in Arizona, when a subject refuses to take a breath test, the officer simply applies for a telephonic search warrant in order to draw your blood (by force, if necessary).

    If you are placed under arrest and are asked to take a breath test, tell the officer that you wish to speak with a lawyer first, before submitting a sample. If he does not allow you to contact an attorney and you do not agree to take the breath test, your license will be suspended for a year.

    If you or someone you know has been arrested for drunk driving after taking a Breathalyzer test, it is important to seek legal counsel as soon as possible.

    We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

  • How Can I Contest My DUI Charge?

    If you have been arrested for DUI in Arizona, it may feel like your conviction is inevitable and there is little chance to defend your case. But rest assured, there are many approaches to fighting a DUI charge. And we are experts in them. Whatever the circumstances of your arrest, AWD Law has the attorneys and staff with to help.

    We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

  • Will I Lose My Driver’s License?

    If you are pulled over for driving under the influence, there are a number of ways you could lose your driver’s license. First, it will be suspended if you are convicted of a DUI. It may be suspended for 1 year if you are arrested for a DUI and refuse a breath, blood and/or urine test.

    Even if you are not convicted of a DUI, you could still lose your license if you do not request a hearing with the Motor Vehicle Division within 15 days of your arrest. Therefore it is important to consult with a qualified Arizona DUI attorney as soon as possible to ensure that your driving privileges are protected.

    For many people, the loss of driving privileges is often the most damaging penalty in a DUI case.

    We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

  • Can a DUI Cost Me My Job as a Commercial Driver?

    For any job that requires driving, DUI offenses are taken very seriously. Truckers, bus drivers, and other transportation workers who have a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) suffer a one year suspension of their CDL for either a DUI conviction or if their license is suspended for being over .08. If the CDL holder has a second offense for DUI since 1985, they are facing a lifetime revocation of their CDL. With so much on the line, anyone arrested for driving under the influence should consult with an experienced DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible.

    Don’t let a DUI conviction impact your career, get your defense started right now.

    We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

  • Is DUI a Crime?

    Yes, DUI is classified as a criminal offense in the state of Arizona. Many people do not realize that DUI qualifies as a crime and results in a criminal record for life. There is no “expungement” in Arizona. If you are convicted of DUI, you face jail time, mandatory fines and possibly probation. You may be required to report a conviction when you apply for a job, a home mortgage, other loans, or to a college or university. Having a DUI on your record can hurt your ability to advance in your career and could limit your future options.

    In Arizona DUI can be either a misdemeanor or a felony. The three types of felony DUI include a third offense within 7 years, a DUI while your license is suspended or restricted, and a DUI while someone under 15 is in the car. All other types are misdemeanors.

    The DUI team at AWD LAW are prepared to defend your case.

    We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

  • Will I Have to Go to Jail?

    A first-time conviction carries a mandatory punishment, set by statute. For a regular DUI, it includes a minimum of 10 consecutive days in jail, which can be reduced to one day with substance abuse screening and any recommended counseling and a maximum of 180 days.

    The DUI team at AWD LAW are ready and prepared to defend your case. Take control of your future right now.

    We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

Traffic Violations


Traffic violations are common among Arizona’s drivers, and many people are unaware of their right to contest the citation or negotiate the punishment. Whether you’ve received a civil speeding ticket or a criminal charge, the consequences can be severe. Any traffic violation may lead to increased insurance rates in addition to the criminal or civil fines.

The AWD LAW team will offer an aggressive defense to ensure that you receive the least severe sentence possible. We fight for the best outcome possible which may include reduced charges or, in some cases, complete dismissal.

Arizona MVD Penalties

Below is information from the Arizona Department of Transportation on the possible point penalties and offenses for which they may suspend or revoke your license:

The following are the points that could be assessed for different traffic offenses:

  • DUI – 8 points
  • Extreme DUI – 8 points
  • Reckless Driving – 8 points
  • Aggressive Driving– 8 points
  • Leaving the scene of accident, hit-and-rune – 6 points
  • Failure to stop for a traffic signal, stop sign or to yield, causing death – 6 points
  • Failure to stop for a traffic signal, stop sign, or to yield, causing serious injury – 4 points
  • Speeding – 3 points
  • Driving over or parking in a gore area –3 points
  • All other moving violations – 2 points

Your license may be suspended or revoked for any of the following:

  • You have been convicted of frequent, serious offenses
  • You have been convicted of reckless driving
  • You are have been deemed “medically unsafe” to drive
  • You have used or allowed another to use you license unlawfully or fraudulently
  • You have been convicted of a DUI/DWI
  • You have refused to take a or failed a breathalyzer or blood test
  • You are under 21 and have been convicted of possessing or consuming alcohol or illegal drugs
  • You have a warrant from another state
  • Any other offense with a mandatory punishment of license suspension revocation

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

We can help you evaluate the circumstances of your case and determine your best options for the most successful outcome possible.

Drug Possession


Arizona’s criminal justice system treats drug-related offenses very seriously. Under Arizona law, drugs are classified in different ways.

The legal classifications are:

  • Dangerous Drugs, e.g., methamphetamine, LSD, mescaline, an MDA
  • Narcotics, e.g., cocaine, crack, heroine, and prescription drugs like Percocet; and Marijuana

Specific charges for possession under Arizona law include:

  • A.R.S. § 13-3405 – Possession, use, production, sale or transportation of marijuana (Felony, Class determined based on action and amount)
  • A.R.S. § 13-3407(A)(1) – Possession or use of a dangerous drug (Class 4 Felony)
  • A.R.S. § 13-3407(A)(2) – Possession of a dangerous drug for the purpose of sale (Class 2 Felony)
  • A.R.S. § 13-3407(A)(3) – Possession of equipment and/or chemicals for the purpose of manufacturing dangerous drugs (Class 3 Felony; Class 2 Felony for Methamphetamine)
  • A.R.S. § 13-407(A)(7) – Transporting or offering to transport for sale or import into the state or knowingly selling or offering to sell or transfer a dangerous drug (Class 2 Felony).
  • A.R.S. § 13-3408 – Possession, use, administration, acquisition, sale, manufacture or transportation of narcotic drugs (Felony, Class determined by specific offense)

If you have been charged with drug possession or another drug-related offense, contact AWD LAW immediately.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

Drug Trafficking


Arizona is a high intensity drug trafficking area. Drug trafficking means the transportation and/or sale of controlled substances. The transportation of drugs may be within or across state lines.

Drug trafficking may be punished by federal or state laws. If you have been charged with the sale or transportation of any drug, including marijuana, methamphetamine, crack, cocaine, heroine, hallucinogens, or prescription drugs, contact AWD LAW today. We will work with you to understand all the relevant facts of your case, and we will develop the best strategy in order to ensure the most fair and just outcome that is possible. Our criminal defense attorneys will advocate aggressively on your behalf to ensure that you receive the least severe sentence that is legally possible.

If you have been charged with drug possession or another drug-related offense, contact AWD LAW immediately.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

Probation and Parole Violations


Probation can take a number of different forms in Arizona. You can be placed on unsupervised, supervised or intensive probation. Probation may also be conditioned by a number of different terms. Some common terms include: 1) refraining from alcohol and drug use; 2) maintaining contact with your probation officer; 3) holding regular employment; 4) completing counseling or substance abuse treatment; 5) refraining from committing other crimes. If you violate one or more of the conditions of your probation as determined by your probation officer or a prosecutor’s office, you may be facing revocation or modification of your probation.

A probation hearing may happen in various stages. The first step is a probation arraignment hearing where you will have the chance to admit or deny the allegations. If you were previously convicted of a felony, the judge may hold you without bond until you are seen by the probation court.

The standard by which a judge will review probation violations (“Preponderance of the Evidence”) is lower than the standard under which you were convicted of the crime for which you received probation (“Beyond a Reasonable Doubt”). Therefore, it is advisable to consult with an attorney about creating a solid defense or negotiating the repercussions for your violation. You have the right to tell your side of the story.

AWD LAW has experienced attorneys to represent you through the probation violation process. We will aggressively represent you to ensure that you receive the best outcome that is legally possible.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

Minor Consumption


Under Arizona Law, it is illegal for a minor to consume alcohol unless it was in connection with a religious practice or for a medical purpose and was consumed in a way not dangerous to public health or safety (A.R.S. §4-244.42).

A person who is found guilty of Minor in Consumption (MIC) is guilty of a Class 2 Misdemeanor (A.R.S. § 4-246(A)). A Class 2 Misdemeanor may be punishable by up to four months in jail (A.R.S. § 13-707(A)(2)) and/or two years of probation (A.R.S. § 13-902(A)(6)), and up to $750 fines (A.R.S. § 13-802(B)). In addition to those penalties applicable to all Class 2 Misdemeanors, there is a $150 fine that is associated specifically with MIC (A.R.S. § 4-246(E)). A person under the age of 18 may also have their driver’s license revoked for 180 days if found guilty of MIC.

It is also a crime to use a fake ID to purchase or otherwise obtain alcohol. (A.R.S. 4-241(L)). This offense is a Class 1 Misdemeanor and is punishable by up to six months of jail time (A.R.S. § 13-707(A)(1)), three years of probation (A.R.S. § 13-902(A)(5)) and/or $2,500 in fines (A.R.S. § 13-802(A)).

If you have been charged with MIC, MIP or using a fake ID to purchase alcohol, you have a right to be represented by an attorney. The experienced attorneys at AWD LAW will work with you to understand all of the circumstances of your case and develop a strong defense. We will advocate vigorously on your behalf to ensure that you receive the lowest sentence that is legally possible.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

Guns and Weapons Violations


Arizona has some of the most permissive gun possession and carry laws in the country. However, a gun or weapon violation may still punished harshly by the state.

Under A.R.S. § 13-3102, it is illegal to:

  • Carry a concealed deadly weapon other than a pocket knife in furtherance of a serious, violent or felony offense;
  • Fail to disclose the possession of a deadly weapon when asked by a police officer;
  • Carry a concealed deadly weapon other than a pocket knife while under 21 years old;
  • Manufacturing, possession, transporting, selling or transferring a prohibited weapon;
  • Possessing a deadly weapon if otherwise prohibited to do so (e.g., in violation of terms of probation, after felony conviction);
  • Providing a deadly weapon to someone who is prohibited to have one;
  • Defacing a deadly weapon (e.g., filing off the serial number, sawing off a shotgun);
  • Knowingly using or possessing a defaced deadly weapon;
  • Using or possessing a deadly weapon at the same time that you are committing a felony offense;
  • Firing a gun at an occupied building in connection with gang activity;
  • Unless otherwise permitted by law, entering a public place or event while carrying a deadly weapon after the owner, operator, or sponsor of the establishment or event asks you to remove the weapon;
  • Unless otherwise permitted by law, carrying a deadly weapon into a polling place on election day;
  • Carrying a deadly weapon on school grounds;
  • Entering a nuclear or hydroelectric generating station while carrying a deadly weapon;
  • Supplying, selling or giving a deadly weapon to someone who you know is going to use that weapon in commission of a felony;
  • Using or possessing a deadly weapon in furtherance of an act of terrorism.

A deadly weapon means “anything designed for lethal use, including a firearm (A.R.S. § 13-105(15).

If you have been charged with one or more of the gun or weapons violations listed above, you have a right to be represented by an attorney. The experienced criminal defense team at AWD LAW can help you navigate the criminal justice process. Our team will work with you to develop a strategic and solid defense to ensure that you receive the lightest sentence that is legally possible.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

Assault and Battery


Assault
Under Arizona law, Assault is the when you (1) intentionally, knowingly or recklessly cause physical injury to another (Class 1 Misdemeanor); (2) intentionally place another person in “reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury” (Class 2 Misdemeanor); or (3) knowingly touch another person with the intent to injure, insult or provoke them (Class 3 Misdemeanor) (A.R.S. § 13-1203).

Aggravated Assault
Under Arizona law, Aggravated Assault is a felony. A charge of Aggravated Assault may be brought against you if the circumstances of your case included an additional factor, including, but not limited to:

  • An assault resulted in a serious injury;
  • An assault was committed against a police officer;
  • If the assault was committed by use of a deadly or dangerous instrument;
  • The person charged is 18 or older and the person assaulted was under 15
    (A.R.S. § 13-1204).

Endangerment
Under Arizona law, the crime of Endangerment is defined as, “recklessly endangering another person with a substantial risk of imminent death or physical injury” (A.R.S § 13-1201).

Threatening or Intimidating
In Arizona it is a crime to “threaten or intimidate by word or conduct:”

  • Physically injure another person or damage their property;
  • To cause (recklessly, knowingly or intentionally) serious public inconvenience, including the evacuation of a public place; or
  • To cause physical injury to a person or damage to their property in furtherance of gang activity (A.R.S. § 13-1202).

If you have been charged with Assault, Aggravated Assault, Endangerment, or Threatening or Intimidating, and you are looking for a highly skilled defense attorney who will vigorously defend your case. Navigating the criminal justice system can be challenging, and having an experienced attorney to represent you is invaluable. The team at AWD LAW will aggressively advocate on your behalf so that you receive the lowest sentence legally possible.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

Theft and Burglary


Theft and Shoplifting
Under Arizona Law, Theft is a crime that involves the unlawful taking or use of another person’s property. Shoplifting is a criminal charge of theft of merchandise from store. There are several factors which may determine the exact theft crime that a prosecutor will charge as well as whether the crime is a misdemeanor or a felony.

Burglary
Under Arizona law, Burglary is the crime of unlawfully entering residential or nonresidential property with the intent to commit any theft or any felony (A.R.S. §§ 13-1506, 13-1507, 13-1508). Burglary in the Third Degree (non-residential) is a Class 4 Felony.  Burglary in the Second Degree (residential) is a Class 3 Felony.

Burglary in the First Degree is the commission of a burglary while in possession of an explosive, a deadly weapon, and/or a dangerous instrument. When committed on a non-residential property, Burglary in the First Degree is a Class 3 Felony, and when committed on a residential property, it is a Class 2 Felony (A.R.S. § 13-1508).

AWD LAW can provide expert legal advice and work with you to develop the best strategy for defending your case. We will aggressively advocate on your behalf to ensure that you receive the lowest sentence legally possible.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

Rape and Sexual Assault


Sexual Assault
Under Arizona law, Sexual Assault is defined as, “intentionally or knowingly engaging in sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact with any person without consent of such person.” (A.R.S § 13-1406).

Sexual Assault is a Class 2 Felony, and a person convicted is subject to strict sentencing guidelines set forth in A.R.S § 13-1406. The minimum, presumptive and maximum imprisonment terms vary based on several factors including the age of the victim, the defendant’s prior felony convictions, and other aggravating or mitigating factors. A person found guilty of Sexual Assault is not eligible for suspension of sentence, probation, pardon or release from confinement.

Statutory Rape
Sexual conduct with any person under the age of 18 is a criminal offense (A.R.S. § 13-1405). If the minor was under 15 and/or the defendant was in a position of trust (e.g., parent, teacher, pastor), then the defendant is guilty of a Class 2 Felony. If the minor was 15 or older, then the defendant is guilty of a Class 6 Felony.

There are several statutory defenses to the charge of Sexual Conduct with a Minor. First, it’s a defense if the minor was 15 or older and the defendant was 1) under 18 or still in high school, 2) no more than 24 months older, and 3) the sexual conduct was consensual. (A.R.S. § 13-1407(F)). A second defense exists if the minor was 15 or older and the defendant did not know and could not reasonably know the minor’s true age (A.R.S. § 13-1407(B)).

Violent Sexual Assault
A person may also be guilty of Violent Sexual Assault if he or she commits Sexual Assault 1) involving the “discharge, use or threatening exhibition of a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument” or the “intentional or knowing infliction of serious physical injury” and 2) the person has one or more prior felony convictions for a sexual offense in Arizona or any other state.

If you have been charged with a sexual offense, you will need a dedicated defense attorney to represent you. The AWD LAW team is dedicated and experienced, and we will provide an aggressive defense. It is our goal to ensure that you receive the lowest sentence that is legally possible.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

White Collar Crimes


White collar crimes are those which are financially motivated and non-violent. They include offenses such as:

  • Credit Card Fraud
  • Business and Commercial Frauds
  • Embezzlement
  • Computer and Internet Crimes
  • Identity Theft
  • Forgery

If you have been charged with any white collar crime, the AWD LAW team can help you develop an aggressive defense. The criminal justice system is complex and can, at times, be confusing. Our experienced attorneys will work closely with you to ensure that you understand every step of the process, and we will advocate vigorously on your behalf to ensure that you receive the lowest sentence that is legally possible.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

Juvenile Offenses


In Arizona, juvenile crimes are generally treated differently than adult crimes. The primary goal of the juvenile justice system is rehabilitation.

The Coconino County Juvenile Court has expressed the following philosophy:

“The balanced and restorative justice model fits our belief in a cognitive approach to juvenile delinquency. Our response to each juvenile offender is guided by assessment, community protection considerations, obligations of the juvenile as a result of the offense, and intervention allowing the juvenile to leave the system, less likely to return.”

Despite the unique approach, juvenile crimes are still very serious, and a conviction may have long-term consequences for you or your child. It is important to have an experienced and dedicated attorney on your side to ensure that you or your child’s rights are protected. AWD LAW offers outstanding legal services, and our team will ensure that you receive the best result that is legally possible.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

Murder


Under Arizona law, killing another person may be charged as one or more of the following crimes: 1) Negligent Homicide (A.R.S. § 13-1102); 2) Manslaughter (A.R.S. § 13-1103); 3) Second Degree Murder (A.R.S. § 13-1104); or 4) First Degree Murder (A.R.S. § 13-1105). Each of these crimes is a felony offense.

If you have been charged with one or more of these offenses, you will need the vigorous representation of an experienced criminal law attorney. The team at AWD LAW will work with you to understand all of the circumstances of your case to ensure that we create the best defense possible. We will aggressively advocate on your behalf to ensure that you receive the lowest sentence that is legally possible.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

Criminal Investigations


If you are currently being investigated for a crime and charges have not yet been filed, it is important to hire an attorney to ensure that your rights are protected throughout the process. The AWD LAW team is highly skilled and well-trained in all aspects of criminal law, including the rules governing pre-trial investigations. Contact us today for an initial consultation.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

Appeals and post-conviction relief matters


If you were convicted of a crime at the trial level, there are two primary ways to challenge the result. The first is by exercising your right to appellate review. The second is a Rule 32 Post-Conviction Relief proceeding. Generally, if your case was decided by a trial, then you have the ability to challenge the disposition on appeal. However, if you entered a plea deal, then a Rule 32 proceeding is likely the only means by which you can seek relief.

The criminal defense team at AWD LAW has experience with both appellate and Rule 32 proceedings. Our team will help you evaluate the circumstances of your conviction and help you understand your best options for post-conviction relief.

We are Northern Arizona’s DUI/DWI and Criminal Defense lawyers. Contact attorney Wendy Edwards at 1-800-774-1478 or 928-774-1478. After hours please call 928-380-2162.

Contact Us!


Please do not provide confidential or sensitive information pertaining to a matter via this form. We are not able to treat that information as privileged or confidential without first entering into an attorney-client relationship. Use of this form does not constitute an attorney-client relationship.